Jago Named Finalist for Men’s Hockey Senior CLASS Award

Jago Named Finalist for Men’s Hockey Senior CLASS Award

Waltham, Mass. – Bentley University's senior defenseman Tanner Jago (Brandon, Manitoba) has been voted one of just 10 student-athletes in Division I as a finalist for the 2018-19 Men's Hockey Senior CLASS Award, it was announced on Friday.

Jago was on the initial candidates list that was announced back in October, and he's now been chosen as a finalist for the prestigious award. Finalists for the award were chosen by national media.

Criteria for the award is having notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

On the ice Jago has been one of the top defensemen in Atlantic Hockey during his career. He's played in 140 games entering this weekend, most among active defensemen in the league. His 76 career points is both 2nd most in the AHA, and 4th most in Bentley history among defensemen.

Off the ice he has been Bentley's team captain this season, after being an assistant captain during his junior year. He has been named to Atlantic Hockey All-Academic team three years in a row with a major in finance, and a minor in mathematics and history.

The winner of the men's hockey Senior Class Award will be announced during the Frozen Four in April, and will be voted on by national media and Division I head coaches. Fans can also help select the winner by submitting votes at the Senior CLASS Award website

The full list of finalists for the men's hockey Senior CLASS Award is below. For more information on each candidate, visit here

Name                                Position                           School

Chase Berger                     Forward                            Penn State

Mason Bergh                      Center                              Colorado College

Erik Brown                         Forward                            RIT

Kyle Haak                          Forward                            U.S. Air Force Academy

Tanner Jago                       Defenseman                      Bentley University

Sasha Larocque                 Defenseman                      Ohio State

Chase Priskie                     Defenseman                      Quinnipiac

Jimmy Schuldt                   Defenseman                      St. Cloud State University

Josh Teves                         Defenseman                     Princeton University

Max Veronneau                  Forward                            Princeton University